Muskingum County Women's Democratic Club

Our Purpose:
To unite women of the Democratic Party
To encourage active participation of women in politics
To promote community and educational functions
To promote the principles of the Democratic Party

Club President:  Melanie Kish
Vice President:  Nancy Harvey
Treasurer:  Barbara Anderson 
Recording Secretary:  Martha Sullivan
Webmaster, Corresponding Secretary:  Gretchen Fathauer

July 2014 Ice Cream Social
some of our club members with Ohio Secretary of State candidate Nina Turner

"Right To Work" meeting, Thursday, Nov. 12, 2015 - IBEW Hall, 5805 Frazeysburg Rd., Nashport
Pizza, 5:30 - 6:00 PM
Program, 6:00 - 7:00 pm
Join us to learn about the threat of "Right to Work" in our community.  Learn more about this anti-worker agenda and what you can do to take action and protect your community. 

RTW is a dangerous attack on working and middle-class families  These anti-worker policies lower wages, slash benefits, make workers less safe on the job, and devastate communities.  Workplace fatalities are 36% higher in RTW states.  Median household incomes are $535/month less in RTW states.

Wed., Nov. 18, 7:30 pm - Muskingum County Democratic Party meeting, Democratic Headquarters, 46 S. 6th St., Zanesville.

The WDC November meeting will be our annual Holiday Luncheon, at Bryan Place, 49 N. 6th St., Zanesville, on Sat., Nov. 21, at 11:30 am.

RSVP, Melanie Kish, 740-787-2203 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Wed., Dec. 9, 7:30 pm - Muskingum County Democrats meeting at Democratic HQ, 46 S. 6th St., Zanesville.

to Local Democrats who were elected in November 3, 2015 Election

Mayor of Zanesville, Jeff Tilton
Zanesville City Auditor, Margo Moyer
Zanesville City Treasurer, Paul DuBeck, Jr.
Zanesville City Council, 2nd Ward, Jan Bradshaw
Zanesville City Council, 3rd  Ward, Connie Norman
Zanesville City Council, 4th Ward, Sandy Gentry
Frazeysburg Mayor, Gary Middlemus
Frazeysburg City Council, Shelley Stokes
Fultonham Mayor, Janet L. Paxson
Gratiot City Council, Melanie J. Kish
Philo Mayor, Lloyd R. Miller
Philo City Council, C. Jean Mitchell
Brush Creek Township Fiscal Officer, Robert J. Pletcher
Cass Township Trustee, Brian Palmer
Cass Township Fiscal Officer, S. Yvonne Sidwell
Harrison Township Trustee, Roy L. Cox
Springfield Township Trustee, Dale Phillips
Wayne Township Trustee, Donald G. Alexander
Muskingum Valley Educational Service Center, Barbara Hansen
Franklin Local School District, Susan L. Lent
West Muskingum School Board, Ty J. Dierkes


The Ohio Democratic Party (ODP) has adopted the 2016 “Delegate Selection Plan” for the Democratic National Convention which will be held next year July25-28 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Delegates to the National Convention are elected by their fellow Democrats at special Democratic Caucus Meetings held in each Congressional District in Ohio.   

If you are interested in being a delegate to the National Convention (or know someone who is) you must fill out and submit a "Declaration of Candidacy" form and "Pledge of Support" forms to ODP.  These two forms will be available from ODP online beginning on November 9, 2015.

The deadline for submitting your completed Declaration of Candidacy (application form) and Pledge of Support form to ODP will be December 26, 2016.

Then, a District Pre-Primary Caucus meeting will be held to nominate delegates to the National Convention.

Only those Democrats who submitted the two forms will be eligible to be nominated to attend the National Convention.

Ohio has a total of 165 delegate seats and 12 alternate seats to fill.

More details will be forthcoming from the Ohio Democratic Party on this subject.

More information about the Democratic National Convention delegate’s election process can be found online at:
More information about the delegate selection process:

 The Muskingum County Women's Democratic Club meets on 3rd Mondays, 7 pm 
at Gant House, 1845 W. Main St., longer at Democratic Headquarters, 46 S. 6th St., Zanesville

Gant House, 1845 W. Main St., Zanesville,
where the Women's Democratic Club meets.

Democratic Headquarters, 46 S. 6th St., Zanesville,
where Muskingum County Democrats Club meets.


Our concession stand at Zane's Landing Park, Zanesville.
(Katalin Newsom and Amy Underwood)

(Mary Shrader, Sandy Gentry and Mary Bates, at an Ice Cream Social)

Links to our friends...

Ohio Democratic Party 

Muskingum County Democratic Party

Ohio Young Democrats

Morgan County Democratic Party

Muskingum County Young Democrats

 Heartbeat Bill - Our club urges our members to protest this bill by writing to:

Troy Balderson
Senate Capital Building 1
Capitol Square, Ground Floor
Columbus, OH 43215
Phone:  614-266-8976

FTT "Free Trade" Deal

Jim Crannell is strongly opposed to the TPP "Free Trade" agreement that is now being debated in Congress, and brought several article printouts to the June 17, 2015 meeting of the Muskingum County Democrats Club.  He has been researching this issue, and shared with the club some articles. He urged us all to ask our representatives to block this deal.

Here are links to these articles:

How the Shenanigans in Congress Over the TPP Trade Deal Threatens the Fundamentals of Our Democracy

How the TPP Amounts to a Corporate Takeover

Awesome Power Is On the Verge of Being Handed Over to Private Banks If TPP Passes

Ponzi Scheme America - You’ve Been Scammed!

Will TPP Kill the Post Office?

The Real Meaning of Obama’s Trade Defeat

What the TPP Really Means: The Weakening of Capitalism

TPP Reduces Human Trafficking and Child Labor to Misdemeanors

Is the TPP Okay With Slavery? Really?

WikiLeaks Strikes Again: Leaked TISA Docs Expose Corporate Plan for Reshaping Global Economy

Is US Trade Rep a Wall Street Crony? Groups Demand Transparency

Barney Frank: Obama Is Making 'A Big Mistake' On TPP

Progressive Change Campaign Committee--Facebook page, scroll down to June 2

Progressive Change Campaign Petition: Tell Congress: Vote NO on fast track for fake trade agreements that kill jobs